Congratulations to AAUS prize winners for 2015-2016!

Dear Colleagues,

On May 6, 2017, the AAUS held its customary semi-annual business meeting at the ASN convention at Columbia University in New York. At the meeting, the new group of AAUS prize winners was announced.

Best Article Prize: Christine Worobec, “The Long Road to Kiev: Nineteenth-Century Orthodox Pilgrimages,” Modern Greek Studies Yearbook, vol. 30/31, 2014-2015,,%202014-15.pdf.pdf

Best Book-Length Translation Prize: Reilly Costigan and Isaac Wheeler, for their translation of Serhiy Zhadan’s Voroshylovhrad (Deep Vellum Press, 2016),

The prize committee for Best Book in the fields of Ukrainian history, politics, language, literature, and culture chose to recognize 3 books (2 co-winners and 1 honorable mention):

George Liber’s Total Wars and the Making of Modern Ukraine, 1914-1954 (U. of Toronto Press, 2016),, has been chosen as the winning book in history and politics.

Andriy Danylenko’s From the Bible to Shakespeare: Pantelejmon Kuliš (1819-1897) and the Formation of Literary Ukrainian (Academic Studies Press, 2016),, has been chosen as the winning book in language, literature, and culture.

Maxim Tarnawsky’s The All-Encompassing Eye of Ukraine: Ivan Nechui-Levytskyi’s Realist Prose (U. of Toronto Press, 2016),, has been chosen as an honorable mention for the book prize.

Our heartfelt congratulations to all the winners!

On behalf of the AAUS Board,

Vitaly Chernetsky

AAUS President

General AAUS News

Comments are closed.